Market Research

I researched into existing brewery web sites to understand what is expected for the user of my page, and also to gather some inspiration for my own web site I am building for Norther Graft Brewery. This will give me good insight into what is expected from my page, how I should present my content, and will give me a good idea about what kind of layout I should be using for my page. First of all I had a look at Five Point brewing page and is probably one of my favorite site layouts I have come across during my market research.

The links to the websites are located in the titles.


Five Points Brewery


fivepoints
This page really caught my attention in comparison to the other pages, and its all down the layout, feel and look of the site. Here I will showcase some of the more prominent pages, that I think serve the most purpose on the site, the more important pages.

Quick Break Down Of The Site
It consists of a container that follows you through each page with a very basic navigation bar central to the page and the title of the company above, the colour palette used for the text and titles is a flat white colour. The site consists of six pages in total. The backgrounds on each page are all large crisp images of different aspects that represent the company, that change depending on which page you are on, all related to brewing, this allows for the text and the title to stand out on each page.


Page 1. About Us
aboutusfpOne thing I have noticed on most brewery page’s they have an “About Us” page, it breaks down the story and history of the brewery from when they first opened. This is something that will be key for my page, making sure I have a good “About Us” page, this is something that relates to the target audience. My target audience is beer enthusiasts, and they love to know as much as they can about the brewery as well as the beer.

Something else I have noticed from brewery pages, they always seem as though they are directly talking to you, and are being a bit funny as though they are your friends that you would chat to sat in the pub. This is something I will take note of when it comes to writing out my content on my own page, I will try to make it very personal and funny.

Page 2. Our Beers
fivepointsAs you move onto the second page “Our Beer” it gives you three labels of their more popular brew’s. The design aspect of this page I really like, It’s as though you’ve just walked up to the bar and these beers are on the taps, it really makes them stand out as well, because the beer is the main focus point of this site, that I love. This is something I could incorporate onto my page.

Page 3. Events
eventsAn events page is very important, creating a schedule that allows the user to know where they can go to try your beer. Having a schedule also makes the brewery look professional, it makes them look better because their going out to different events and makes them look as though they really care for their product.

What I Have Taken From This SIte
I really like this page, and there are a few thing I have learned from it. Making sure the information on the page is presented in a funny friendly manner. one of my biggest inspirations for the design of my site is taken from this page would be the images in the background, it can make even the simplest web sites look beautiful. I liked the design of the our beer page also, making it look as though you are stood at a bar in front of the beer taps, this advertises the product really well, and also makes the beer the key focus point of the page. Adding an event page to my site, it gives the company a more profound professional look.


Crew Republic


Druck
The Crew Republic web site is another that caught my attention, mainly for the layout of the page. It’s very similar to the five points brewery page in that sense, but contains a few aspect I really don’t like about this. Like the drop down menu’s when you go over the hyper links for the pages, this causes problems when using the web site on other devices such as tablets or mobile devices. Again I will talk about the pages I consider the most important on this page.

Quick Break Down Of The Page
It consists again of six pages, with another very basic navigation that leads along the top, with the company icon central to the nav bar. Again the colour pallet used for the titles and text are all a flat white colour, that stand out from the background which is a large image of what looks like the foaming head of a beer. A container follows you through again on each page, which is designed to look like some form of wooden clip board which presents the content of the page quite nicely.


Page 1. Crew Beers
ourbeersThe first main page after the Home page is the “Crew Beers” page, the most important on this website. This is exactly what the target audience want, to get straight to the point which is the product, because that why their using the page for the beer. I love the way the product is presented crisp images of the beer that almost look three-dimensional, as though you could just grab one straight off the wooden pallet. This is what is needed from the page, just gets straight to the main focus point of the page, which is something I will consider for my website.

Page 2. About Us
aboutusSomething that keeps occurring when I look at brewers pages is that the about us page is always a key focus point of the site. And the Crew Republic about us page is probably my favorite I have come across, because it tells you all about each individual member of the team and gives you their back story about why they came into brewing, and something else that is a nice little add-on to the page is, it tells you what each members favorite beer is and what their favorite hop is. Again going back to beer enthusiasts this something they will want to know, it recommends beers, and I think it’s a nice little aspect of this page, something I will be considering for my own page. Again like the Five Points about us page, its written as though you are talking to them and creates quite a friendly and fun feel to the page.
aboutuscrew
Page. 3 Crew Finder
crewfinderAnother page that is of major importance on the website is the Crew Finder page. This allows for the user to find exactly where Crews bars are located, allowing the user to know exactly where they can go to try their product. This also makes the company look a lot more profound, it shows the user that they are good because they have bars all over Munich.

What I Have Taken From This Site
First of all I would just like to mention this website has tought me to avoid using drop down menus on the hyper links. The Crew Beer page has given me inspiration for when it comes to displaying my content, I like the idea of making the product look like a physical object you could reach out and grab off the page, I think this advertises the product really well. The about us page is my biggest inspiration from this site, I like the idea of telling the user about more about the members of the brewery, and adding little beer recommendations on the page, it just makes the company look as though they know a lot more about the product and makes it look as though its something they really care about. The Crew Finder page gives me great insight like the schedule on the Five Points page, it makes the company look a lot more profound.


Brooklyn Brewery


Brewery-Logo-PNG
Another page that caught my attention, one of the main thing I like about the page is the design. Again the layout is very similar to the Five Points and Crew web sites, this site also includes the drop down menu I don’t like that is quite a pain to work with on a tablet or mobile device. Again I will talk about the pages I find most important on this website.

Quick Break Down Of The Page
It has standard navigation bar with six pages that go across the top of the page, it has a flat white container that follows you through each page. The titles are a dark grey colour and the text is black, which makes them stand out on the white container. The background of the body on the site is of a brick wall which could be related to being stood in a bar.


Page 1. Our Beer
brooklynLike the other sites the “Our Beer” pages are always the most prominent, making the product the key focus point of the site, which is right. similar to the Crew Republic page the Brooklyn our beer page, makes the beer look in a way as though its three-dimensional, as though you could grab it off of the screen. Which is a good way of advertising the product. And like I say it’s as though you could grab it off the screen, on the Brooklyn page when you hover over the beer it enlarges, which in a way is like your picking it up, I really like that aspect.

Page 2. Events
events1Like the Five Points page Brooklyn use an events page, and gives the user a schedule. This is something I will be considering for my page, it allows the user to know when they can try Brooklyn beer, which is very important, and like I say it just makes the brewery look a lot more profound. And also makes the company look as though they really care for the beer they make, because their taking part in different events.

Page 3. Visit
visitThis page reaches right out to the target audience the beer enthusiasts. This allows the public to go into the brewery, and learn about how they brew the beer they love, this is very important and is something the target audience would really love to take part in. This makes again makes the company look as though they really care for the product, and again will attract in more customers.

What I Have Taken From This Page
The Brooklyn Brewery site really has clarified and given me good insight for my own site. I love the our beer page, making the beer the key focus point and making it look as though it’s a physical object like the Crew Republic page, also advertises the product really well. Like the Five Points web page a schedule to allow the user to know where they can try the product is also key, and would be something I will consider for my own site. And then the visit page, this is something the target audience will be interested in, because they want to know as much about the brewery as they do about the beer and how they do it. Also the design and layout of the page, I love the background which makes it look as though you’ve just walked into a dingey little bar to go for a beer, it creates quite a realistic effect on the page.


CONCLUSION


I have taken a lot in from the research I have conducted, it has given me insight into what the target audience will expect from my page. It has also taught me a few thing I should avoid on my page, such as the drop down menus on the hyper links. Here is a quick break down of content I have taken from these sites that has inspired me for the Northern Graft site.

Layout
Using large crisp images related to the subject for the background and using a simple layout with a basic nav bar with the company logo central on each page, this tells the user we are we are Northern Graft this is what we do, this is what we care about.

About Us Page
Keeping the content on this page friendly and funny, as though you are speaking to the user as a friend. Adding the members of the company giving a little back story to why they brew beer, and also add recommendations from the brewers of other beers.

Our Beer Page
Making sure the focus point of the page, the beer is presented well, like the Crew and Brooklyn sites making it stand out.

Events/Visit Page
Creating a schedule for the user, so they know where they can try the product. This also makes the company look as though they care for the product a lot more, and about what they do.

Leave a Reply

