Interactive Exhibition: Market Research – Trip To Museums In Hull

For part of my market research to gain a greater knowledge of the interactive products on display in hull museums and to inspire me for my exhibition, I went on a day out to the Hull Maritime Museum, Wilberforce House, and the Street Life Museum Of Transport. Throughout my research on this day one thing became very clear to me, in hull there is a lack of modern interactivity within these museums.

This creates a problem because the lack of modern techniques to tell a story or to teach an audience about the history of hull, narrows down the age group and decreases the attention of a younger audience. But not only does this create a problem for pulling in a younger audience, it also makes the museums seem old-fashioned and bland. In comparison to other museums across the country, who embrace modern technology make hulls museum’s look really old.

The use of older techniques in getting information across to a person is quite prominent within each of these museums, like the boards on the walls with tons of text, this I find myself as a younger person a struggle to keep interested in what it is trying to tell me because I am part of a generation that scans through text, and this is the only way a person can learn anything within these museums there is no alternative source of information that uses a different approach.

The only place I went to that had two examples of modern interactivity was Wilberforce house, I managed to get some video footage of these interactive displays to gain an understanding of the functionality of these exhibitions and how it might inspire the functionality of my exhibition.

Below is the link to the video I took of the exhibition at Wilberforce House:

Drop Box Video: Wilberforce Exhibition

I felt a breath of fresh air after using these interactive exhibitions, considering all I had seen all day was boards of text after boards of text. I felt instantly drawn to them, and wanted to know exactly what they where trying to teach me about Wilberforce. I guess it was the familiarity of the device, and is something I am very used to scrolling around on a screen. But again after using these I felt as though I was limited to the amount I could learn from it, down to the shortage of content on the device.

Something that grabbed my attention instantly on this device, was the fact that you could look at William Wilberforce’s old notes and things he had written down by hand, and it allowed you to take a closer look with a magnifying glass. I found this very interesting, and is something I will be taking into consideration for my exhibition.

Leave a Reply

