Interactive Exhibition: Colour Scheme

One of the most important aspects of this exhibition is to emit some form of emotion that not only relys on the design of the exhibition but also the color scheme throughout.

I researched into color theory so I could select the correct colors that emit the emotion I am trying to portray in my exhibition.


 

Color Psychology


 

I found a really good video that talks about how colors are used with branding and design, and talks about these certain colors can make a user feel and influences there choices.

This made me think a bit more about the color selection, and gave me an idea of how I am going to emit the emotion I want from my exhibition.

Resource: Empower Yourself With Color Pyschology

Dark Blue is a color that has stuck out throughout my research, taken from the “Empower Yourself With Color Psychology” website it states that the colour blue represents:

One to one communication
Which is something that my exhibition is based on, user generated content that speaks to the user of the exhibition on a personal level.

Blue is nostalgic
Nostalgia is something that plays a massive part in my exhibition, people sharing there memory’s and reading other peoples. As stated on the resource is says:

“It is a color that lives in the past, relating everything in the present and the future to experiences in the past.”


 

Orange From the creation of my mood boards, and searching for images relating to “memorys” and “nostalgia” Orange is a color that follows throughout each image, on the resource it states that orange represents:

Orange relates to social communication

“stimulating two way conversations. A warm and inviting color, it is both physically and mentally stimulating, so it gets people thinking and talking!”

Which is something I want to create within my exhibition, I want it to get people talking about there ancestry and heritage, and make them interested.


 

Yellow 

Again such as the color orange this something I have picked up from the creation of my mood board, and from other research. On the resource it states that:

Yellow Relates to acquiring knowledge 

“It is the color which resonates with the left or logic side of the brain stimulating our mental faculties and creating mental agility and perception.”

Which is what this exhibition is about learning more about our fishing heritage.


 

Now I have chosen the three main colors for my exhibition I decided on exactly how I was going to use them, I decided that the color blue would be used for the background through out the exhibition, and adding the yellow and orange for the content such as the memory’s to overlap the blue background.

And for the tool bars, I decided to use a dark grey to create the affect that the tool bar was a completely separate option from the rest of the content, and also does not take the focus away from the main body of content.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

