Interactive Exhibition – Persona’s

 

One thing that is essential in this process is understanding who you’re target audience is for this exhibition, and understanding what kind of individuals would be interested in this exhibition.

From my research into the target audience of history museums I discovered:

History Museum’s have older visitors, over 60% of these visitors are over the age of 50.

A quarter are parent’s with young children

From my research into the target audience of the “BacktrackHull” Facebook page that resembles a similar concept to my exhibition:

The most popular contributors are both male and female between the ages of 25-34

And the second highest contributors are between the ages of 45-54

And from my tally of contributions on the page:

People aged between 40-60 contribute the most to the page, but a younger age group ranging between 18-30 show interest in the contributions.

This created a clearer picture in my head for my persona’s, having an idea of the age group of the visitors at the museums, and also age groups and people who would be interested in my exhibition.

From the various different age groups who would be attending the museum, and the exhibition it came to me that these visitors would maybe be coming on family visits, so I decided to create three different personas, one for a younger audience, a middle aged audience, and an older audience.

For further research I conducted a small question-are for a select few who would fall under these age groups, to create a greater idea of what they will be looking for in the exhibition and what there needs would be.


 

Susan


 

How are you with using modern day technology such as tablets and mobile devices?:

I have an iPhone and a tablet, during time at home I spend a lot of time using my tablet, so I am pretty comfortable with using modern day technology.

Would you feel drawn to modern day interactive features when attending a museum, as apposed to using the older techniques?:

I would but usually I find limitations to the amount of content present on these interactive features, and find a lot of the time with the use of older techniques there is always a lot of information present.

persona1


 

Maggie


How are you with using modern day technology such as tablets and mobile devices?:

I don’t its all new to me, only when my daughter shows me things but I don’t really use these things.

Would you feel drawn to modern day interactive features when attending a museum, as apposed to using the older techniques?:

If I was with my family, I only really attend museums with friends or my family only if they where using it and I stood and watched.

 

persona2


 

Alex


 

How are you with using modern day technology such as tablets and mobile devices?:

Because a lot of my work and personal interests revolve around using computers and other devices, I would say I am pretty good with modern day technology.

Would you feel drawn to modern day interactive features when attending a museum, as apposed to using the older techniques?:

Of course the older techniques are out dated, and I feel modern day technology needs to be implemented into more museums It makes it more interesting, and draws in some one like me who is used to this kind of technology.

persona3


Conclusion

 

 

Now I have a greater idea of who I am aiming at this process of creating a persona has painted a clearer picture for me, on who I am aiming at and how I am going to make this exhibition to appeal to these types of people. This exhibition would maybe be aimed at family’s like a family day out.

 

Leave a Reply

