MAJOR PROJECT: TARGET AUDIENCE (AGE GROUP)

target-audience

As part of my research I decided to look into who exactly my graphic novel would be aimed at, this will give me an understanding of exactly what direction I should take for my graphic novel, and who will show interest in my graphic novel.

For my first piece of research I came across of some statics that show the different age groups and genders showing the most interest in graphic novels depending on likes, on a website called Graphic Policy, here are the statics:

graphicnovelstatits

In this graph it shows that the most predominant ages groups showing the most interest in graphic novels are between the ages of 18 – 21 showing 30% more interest than any of the other age groups.

The Second age groups to show the most interest are 22 – 25 and 38 – 41 showing 20% more interest than the other age groups.

So from this piece of research I can say the age groups I will be aiming at are between the ages of:

 

Target Audience Age

18 -40

 

I researched further into the target audience to develop a further understanding of the age groups I will be aiming at, I discovered another page called Boopsie with more statics that back up my previous findings on the Graphic Policy Page, here is an extract from the page that backs up my findings:

“40% of graphic novel and comics readers are between the ages of 18 and 25, 5% are under the age of 17, and 16% are between the ages of 26 and 33”

It also states that graphic novels readers over the age of 45 are most predominately women, and bellow the ages of 45 are predominately men.

 


Resources: 
http://www.boopsie.com/demographics-of-comics-and-graphic-novel-readers-inside-the-public-library/#.WDg3zECLSuU

Demo-Graphics: Comic Demographic Data Over the Years 2013-2014

Leave a Reply

